15th Annual Music Students Scholarship Essay Contest Winners

Mike Lawson • News • April 14, 2015

Share This:

“How Does Your Music Class Prepare You For Life” was the theme of SBO’s 15th Annual  scholarship essay contents.  Several thousand entries were submitted  as students competed for ten, $1,000 scholarships. The awards were given to five students in grades 4 to 8 and five students  grades 9 to 12 and their respective school music programs received a matching award of music products from co-sponsors NAMM, Alfred Music Publishing, Sabian Ltd., Woodwind & Brasswind and Yamaha Corporation of America.  Since its inception the scholarship program has awarded $300,000 in funds and matching music products to the winners and their schools.  Two students from the Floyd Middle Magnet School in Montgomery Al were among the winners.  Other states represented were Pennsylvania, Georgia, Indiana, California, Florida, Illinois, Oklahoma and Maryland.  The music students received their scholarship awards from local music dealers representing NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants), a major co-sponsor of the program.

The winning school music programs and their music directors include Trey Bird and Angeli’c Harris, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery, AL, Coleman Woodson, music director; Claire Cao, Tohickon Middle School, Doylestown, PA., Jennifer Repper, music director; Kayla Robinson, Lindley 6th Grade Academy, Mableton, Ga., music director Kameron Crutcher ; Brianna Quintana, Griffith Middle School, Griffith, IN, music director Debbie Korak.   In the 9 to 12th grade category winners were Christopher Frost, Westview High School, San Diego, CA., music director Jeri Webb; Dylan Lee Meyer, Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville, IL., music director Charles Staley; Tanner Robertson, Collinsville High School, Collinsville, OK., music director Richard Newhart; Caitlyn Stupi, Westminster High School, Westminster, MD, music director, Jennifer Jones and Jose Veliz, Cypress Bay High School, Weston, FL., music director, Jonathan Jadvani.

Winners Grades 4-8

Trey Bird

Age: 14
Grade: 8
Music Director: Coleman Woodson
School: Floyd Middle Magnet School
3444 Lebron Road
Montgomery, AL 36111

Claire Cao

Age: 12
Grade: 7
Music Director: Jennifer Repper
School: Tohickon Middle School
5051 Old Easton Road
Doylestown, PA 18902

Angeli’c Harris

Age: 1
Grade: 6
Music Director: Coleman Woodson
School: Floyd Middle Magnet School
3444 Lebron Road
Montgomery, AL 36111

Kayla Robinson

Age: 11
Grade: 6
Music Director: Kameron Crutcher
School: Lindley 6th Grade Academy
1550 Pebblebrook Circle SE
Mableton, GA 30126

Brianna Quintana

Age: 13
Grade: 8
Music Director: Debbie Korak
School: Griffith Middle School
600 North Wiggs
Griffith, IN 46319

Winners Grades 9-12

Christopher Frost

Age: 18
Grade: 12
Music Director: Jeri Webb
School: Westview High School
13500 Camino Del Sur
San Diego, CA 92129

Dylan Lee Meyer

Age: 18
Grade: 12
Music Director: Charles Staley
School:  Neuqua Valley High School
2360 95th Street
Naperville, IL 60564

Tanner Robertson

Age: 15
Grade: 9
Music Director: Richard Newhart
School: Collinsville High School
2400 West Broadway Street
Collinsville, OK 74021

Caitlyn Stupi

Age: 16
Grade: 11
Music Director: Jennifer Jones
School: Westminster High School

Jose Veliz

Age: 18
Grade: 12
Music Director: Jonathan Jadvani
School: Cypress Bay High School
18600 Vista Park Boulevard
Weston, FL 33332

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!