June, 2008

Mike Lawson • Archives • June 4, 2008

Share This:

TSU Team Wins Shure Recording Competition
Shure Incorporated has announced that a three-member team from the music department at Texas State University is this year’s Grand Prize Winner of the fourth annual “Fantastic Scholastic Recording Competition.” The three-student team of Joel Cowen, Adam Brisbin and Jordan Lott, with faculty advisor, Mark Erickson, won this year’s Shure contest with an original composition by Graham Wilkinson and the Underground Township entitled “Let It Go.”

The judges for the competition were Chuck Ainlay, Joe Barresi, Frank Filipetti, Mike Fraser, Chris Kimsey, Chuck Meyers, Elliot Scheiner and Al Schmitt, who evaluated the recordings on their overall fidelity, clarity, and sonic balance-as well as creativity in selection and placement of microphones.

In addition to the Texas State University team, there were teams competing from Anderson University, Biola University, Butler University, California State University (Chico), Middle Tennessee State University, Ohio University, The Hartt School at the University of Hartford, the University of New Haven and the University of South Carolina School of Music.

The runner-up in this year’s competition was the team from The Hartt School at the University of Hartford and the students from Biola University received an honorable mention.

Each of the 10 student teams worked on a recording project that consisted of tracking and mixing a performance, exclusively using a “microphone locker” provided by Shure for the competition. Teams submitted a stereo mix for review by a panel of industry professionals who were selected by Shure to judge the competition.

As the winning school, the Texas State takes ownership of the entire Shure Microphone Locker, which consists of: (1) Beta 52A, (1) Beta 91, (3) Beta 98D/Ss, (2) KSM27s, (2) KSM32s, (2) KSM44s, (2) KSM141s, (4) SM57s, (1) SM7B, (1) VP88, and (1) A27M. The entire microphone package is valued at more than $12,000. In addition, a donation of $3,000 towards a scholarship fund will be awarded to the winning school, and each member of the winning team will receive a KSM27, valued at $575.

For more information, visit www.shure.com.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!