‘Big Phat Jazz Piano Solos’ from Alfred Music

Mike Lawson • Instruments & Gear • April 13, 2018

Share This:

Big Phat Jazz Piano Solos is a new intermediate / late intermediate jazz piano book by Gordon Goodwin.

The new book from Alfred contains piano solo adaptations of jazz band composer Gordon Goodwin’s most popular Big Phat Band titles.

Musically challenging but technically accessible, these 10 Big Phat Band classics, recomposed by Gordon Goodwin, capture the essence of the Big Phat Band versions. They reflect Goodwin’s ability to combine jazz excellence with a variety of musical styles—including Latin, rock, and funk. The spirit of each composition can be heard in videos of Gordon Goodwin playing each piece, available online atalfred.com/BigPhatJazzVideos. In each video, Gordon plays through the entire piece, then highlights concepts or skills to practice, providing learning and performance tips specific to that piece.

Big Phat Jazz Piano Solos titles include “Settle Down,” “Everlasting,” ” Samba del Gringo,” “The Jazz Police,” “I Remember,” “Maynard & Waynard,” “Backrow Politics,” “An American Elegy,” “Brother Bones,” and “Hunting Wabbits.”

Big Phat Jazz Piano Solos is available for $9.50.


The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!